skip navigation

2014 State Champions Crowned

By Sam DiFilippo, 06/03/14, 3:00PM EDT


Saturday May 31 Elkhart, IN- Sixteen teams and their fans converged on the Moose Rugby Grounds this past weekend to see who would finish at the top of their divisions for the 2014 Rugby Indiana State Playoffs. The Moose Grounds have hosted the Midwest Championships and the National Invitational in the past month, the grounds were looking great and the weather had finally perfected itself for a great day of rugby. 

Each of the eight games that was played was highly contested and not a single player on either side of the wins seemed to have any quit in them Saturday. The Indiana Referee Society provided the top refs in the state, as well as assistant referees for each game. 

Here are the results:

Boys Division II
Warsaw 31
Pike 10
MVP: Jason Taylor - Warsaw

Boys Super League JV
Penn 17
La Salette 29

Boys Division I JV
Fishers 12
HSE 13

Girls Varsity Final
Warsaw 24
North Central 34
MVP: Pre Smiley - No. Central

Middle School 7/8th Final 
Junior Kingsmen 10
Broad Ripple 34

Boys Division I Varsity
Fishers 22
North Central 29

Middle School 5/6 Division Final
HSE 17
Broad Ripple 46

Super League Varsity Final
Penn 3
Royal Irish 5
MVP: Noah Schrader - Royal Irish